Jones County Probate Court
Judge Mike Greene
Jones Co. Probate Court
P.O. Box 1090
Gray, Georgia 31032
Civil Court Supervisor
Vital Records Supervisor
Visa and MasterCard are accepted. Please be aware that a service charge will apply.
The office of the Probate Court provides a variety of functions including but not limited to issuing marriage licenses, weapons carry licenses and fireworks display permits, maintaining vital records for Jones County, administering misdemeanor traffic court and probate procedures such as probate of wills, administrations and guardianships of minors and adults. See below for more detailed information regarding these matters. Please do not hesitate to contact our office if we can be of assistance.
Traffic Citations may be paid online with a debit or credit card at www.ezcourtpay.com, in the office with cash, money order or a cashier’s check, or you may mail a money order or cashier’s check to the office address at the top of this page. NO PERSONAL CHECKS WILL BE ACCEPTED. Payment of traffic fines must be received in the office prior to the day of your arraignment in order to avoid a court appearance. If you wait until the day of your scheduled arraignment, then you must appear in the court to pay your citation. Should you desire to contest your citation and have your case heard before a judge or jury, you must personally appear at your arraignment. Your hearing will be scheduled for a later date where the officer and witnesses, if any, will be subpoenaed to testify.
Probate Court has exclusive jurisdiction over the probate of wills, administration of estates, temporary guardianship of minor wards, permanent guardianship and conservatorship over minor and adult wards, and applications for year’s support awards. There are filing fees associated with all petitions and these fees are due upon filing. Once you have filed your pleadings and paid the filing fees, you will be scheduled a time to appear before the Judge and have your petition heard as all matters are handled by appointment only. Forms for these procedures and additional information are available in the office or online at www.gaprobate.gov.
Jones County Probate Court is the custodian of vital records for Jones County. You may obtain certified copies of birth and death certificates for a fee of $25.00 for the first copy, and $5.00 for each additional copy obtained at the same time for the same person. Georgia law dictates what familial relations may obtain a birth certificate for another person. Those relations are parent, child, spouse, grandparent and sibling. Please contact our office for further information regarding vital records, paternity acknowledgements, legitimations, amendments and corrections, and delayed birth certificates. As of November 2007, local custodians for vital records now have access to birth and death certificates for the entire state of Georgia and may issue certified copies for other counties.
GEORGIA FIREARMS LICENSES
The Probate Court issues firearms licenses, also known as “Georgia Weapons Carry License” as governed by O.C.G.A.§16-11-126 through 134. Applicants are encouraged to read the applicable law prior to making application to ensure a better understanding of your rights and responsibilities. You may obtain a copy of the applicable law in the office. Applications will be accepted on normal business days between the hours of 8:00 am and 4:30 pm. You must be a Jones County resident and provide a valid photo ID which reflects your physical Jones County address. The fee for application and fingerprint processing is $71.00 ($30.00 for RENEWALS if you already have a valid Georgia issued weapons carry license) and you may pay by cash, money order, credit/debit card or certified check payable to the Probate Court. There is a service charge to pay with a credit/debit card. Processing time varies based upon volume of applicants. The license is valid for five (5) years, at which time you must reapply for a new license. Be aware that prior convictions for certain offenses will disqualify you from obtaining a firearms license. Some of those offenses include convictions arising out of domestic violence, weapons violations and drug related offenses, if you’ve not been free from supervision for at least five (5) years.
SAVE PROCESSING TIME BY CLICKING ON THE LINK BELOW to complete your Weapons Carry License application. You will receive a confirmation number upon completion which you will need to bring with you to the Probate Court office within two (2) weeks of completing the application, along with the application fee of $71.00 ($30.00 for RENEWALS if you already have a valid Georgia issued weapons carry license) and a current Georgia issued photo ID that reflects your Jones County address. You will then be photographed, fingerprinted and the application process completed at that time and, if approved, you will receive your license in the mail within 2-3 weeks.
The cost for a marriage license is $76.00 payable by cash, money order, credit/debit card or certified check payable to the Probate Court. There is a service charge to pay with a credit/debit card. If you have had at least 6 hours of marriage counseling, you may receive a license at the reduced fee of $36.00. In order to receive the reduced fee, you must provide a certificate provided by the Probate Court and completed by the counselor. Marriage License Applications will be accepted on normal business days between the hours of 8:00 am and 4:30 pm. Each applicant must be at least eighteen (18) years old and must provide a valid photo ID and a copy of your divorce decree if you have ever been divorced. If you do not have a photo ID, then you must provide at least two (2) of the following forms of identification that contain your full name and date of birth: certified birth certificate, foreign birth certificate with a certified English translation, court record, hospital admission card, selective service card, armed forces discharge papers, INS issued immigration, citizenship or alien papers, baptismal certificate or sworn affidavit by applicant attested to by two (2) people with valid photo identification.
EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2019: All applicants 17 years of age must be lawfully emancipated and provide proof of the emancipation to obtain a marriage license, and anyone entering into a marriage with a 17 year old cannot be more than four (4) years older. NO EXCEPTIONS. No person under the age of 17 years may obtain a marriage license in the state of Georgia under any circumstances. NO EXCEPTIONS.
SAVE WAIT TIME BY CLICKING ON THE LINK BELOW to complete your MARRIAGE LICENSE application. You will receive a confirmation number upon completion which you will need to bring with you to the Probate Court office within two (2) weeks of completing the application, along with the application fee of $76.00 and a valid photo ID. The application process will be completed at that time and you will receive your marriage license.
Guardianship of Incapacitated Adults
This guardianship proceeding is filed when it is believed that an individual is unable to care for his or her personal needs and/or property. Such a case is usually initiated by the next of kin. A guardian may be appointed to care for the personal needs. A conservator may be needed to help make financial decisions and take care of financial issues. The individual may need both a guardian and a conservator. You can obtain standardized forms for this proceeding in the probate court and online at www.gaprobate.gov at the Georgia Probate Court Online System.
Under certain circumstances a petitioner may file for an emergency guardianship/conservatorship . The Petitioner must present sufficient facts to support the claim for the need for the appointment of an emergency guardian and/or conservator.
Guardians of Minors
A permanent guardianship may be needed for a minor with no natural or testamentary guardian. Parents are the natural guardians of their children. Guardianships of minors may be needed due to death or disability of a parent. Often a temporary guardianship of a minor child will be granted so that the child lives with a relative or family friend for a period of time. Most temporary guardianships are granted with parental consent.
Conservatorship of Minors
Another guardianship proceeding, the Petition for Conservatorship of a minor is filed in the probate court. Such a case is filed when a minor receives property valued at more than $15,000.00.
Annual Returns and Status Reports
These reports are filed by the guardians and conservators of both minors and incapacitated adults. Most reports are filed annually. Forms for filing petitions, annual returns, and status reports are available in the probate court and online at www.gaprobate.org at the Georgia Probate Court Online System.