It is the mission of the Jones County Board of Commissioners to exercise the powers, duties and responsibilities vested in and imposed upon it as the duly constituted governing authority of Jones County. The Board sets direction and formulates policies for the county government and entrusts the leadership of the county administrator to adhere to and enforce such policies and to ensure provision of the highest quality services to both its internal (employees) and external (citizens) customers. The Board embraces the opportunity to respond to the needs and concerns of the citizens; and to conduct business in an open and professional manner.

  • The Commission meets in regular session twice a month on the first and third Tuesdays at 6:00 p.m.
  • Commission Zoning Hearings are held the first Tuesday of the month beginning at 6:00 p.m. with the regular session meeting immediately following.
  • Commissioner Committees meet on an as needed basis.

*Agendas are finalized the Thursday before the meetings and posted on the county bulletin board at the Government Center, emailed to the Jones County News, and posted on the county’s web site. A summary agenda of all actions taken at the meeting is posted on the web site and bulletin board within 48 hours following the meeting. To be placed on the agenda or if you have any questions, you may call the county clerk at (478) 986-8232. Please go to the clerk’s page to download a form that may be faxed to request to be placed on the agenda. We respectfully asked that all information that you would like to distribute to the commissioners at the meeting be sent to the County Clerk no later than Friday afternoon prior to the Tuesday Commissioner Meetings. The Clerk will make copies for you and include them in the commissioners’ meeting notebooks along with all of their other meeting documentation.

How many Commission members do we have in Jones County? The board of commissioners of Jones County shall be composed of a chairperson and four other members. The chairperson is elected by the entire county. For purposes of electing the four other members of the board, Jones County is divided into four commission districts.

What is a Commission District? Each Commission District is a specified geographic area determined by County Commissioners.  The districts change after the census is taken every ten years.  The areas are based on population and all the districts have equivalent populations based on the most recent census.

Who determines the Commission District? Commission district lines are developed and approved by Jones County Commissioners and then forwarded to the U. S. Department of Justice for final approval.  The district lines are evaluated every ten years after the Census Count is finalized.

How can I find out what Commission District I am in? There are a multiple ways to find your Commission District.  If you have your Voter Registration card, you can find your district listed on it. If you need more help, you can contact the Voter Registration office and they can assist you.

Who is my Commission Member? Your Commission member is determined by the District in which you live.  Your Commission District is located on your registration card.   Match your District Number with the name of the Commissioner member adjacent to it as listed below.

Chairman                       Chris Weidner

District #1                      Sam Kitchens

District #2                      John Wood

District #3                      Wendy Vaughn

District #4                      Daylon Martin

How can I contact my Commission members? This website has a list of all members of Jones County Commissioners.  Additionally, you can call and speak to the County Clerk who will contact the Commissioners member for you.

Who can run for Commission? A person must be a minimum age of 18 years old; must be a resident of the county and/or district at the time of the election; must not have pledge guilty or been convicted of a felony in this state or in another state or pledge guilty or been convicted of driving under the suspension of a license or driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol within the past ten years.

Who works for the Commissioners? Jones County Council has two employees.  They are the County Administrator and the County Clerk.

Do the elected officials such as the Sheriff, Coroner, Solicitor, Clerk of Court, Probate Judge, or any elected official work for Jones County Commission? No, they do not work for Jones County Commissioners.  They are elected officials and must answer to the voters, state laws, and local laws.

Click on image below to view interactive web map