It is the duty of the Jones County Board of Assessors to:

  1. Value Property – assure that all personal property and all real property have been returned for taxation at the proper valuation;
  2. Examine Returns – examine the returns of real and personal property to determine if property has been omitted from the return or the valuation returned represents the fair market value of the property;
  3. Correct Returns – correct returns and assess the property at fair market value;
  4. Send Notices – give written notice to the taxpayer of changes in the return. Send annual assessed value notices.

The Board of Assessors meets the first Thursday of every month and as needed in the Charlotte C. Wilson Conference Room, 166 Industrial Blvd., Gray, Georgia. Board members serve 6 year terms and are appointed by the Jones County Board of Commissioners.

Board Members:
Geraldine Hogan
Chairman John Wood
Mary Watts

The Duties of the Jones County Board of Appeals and Adjustments are to hear appeals of administrative decisions made by the Zoning Director and to hear requests for variances concerning cases where a literal enforcement of the zoning law may result in an unnecessary hardship. Board members are appointed for 5 year terms by the Board of Commissioners.

Board Members:
Earnest Queen, District I
Clarence Green, District II
Teresa Chambers, District III
Jan Andrews, County Wide
Sunset Harris, District IV

The Board of Health, among other duties, exercises responsibility and authority in all matters within the county pertaining to health unless the responsibility for enforcement of such is by law of another agency. Duties include taking such steps as may be necessary to prevent and suppress disease and conditions deleterious to health and to determine compliance with health laws and rules, regulations, and standards. Board members are appointed for 6 year terms and there are 3 members appointed by the Jones County Board of Commissioners in addition to the Chairman of the Board who is the non-appointed County Representative.

County Members: 
Jennifer Goldsberry
Rooster Cogburn
Dr. Kara Moore
Chris Weidner, Chairman of the Board of Commissioners

Board was established to provide designation of Historic Properties or Historic Districts and to provide for issuance of certificates of appropriateness; to provide for appeals procedure; to repeal conflicting ordinances while preserving and enhancing places, districts, sites, buildings, structures and works of art having a special historical, cultural or aesthetic interest or value to Jones County. Board members are appointed for 3 year terms by the Board of Commissioners.

Earlene Hamilton
Jason McSwain
Cliff Bowen

The Jones County Development Authority exists for the public good and general welfare to develop and promote trade, commerce, industry and employment opportunities in Jones County. It allows job tax credits offered by the State as incentives for relocating manufacturers and warehouse facilities to Georgia (O.C.G.A. 36-62-5.1).  It does have the ability to take on debt and issue revenue bonds.  The Jones County Development Authority meets the second Thursday of each month at 9:00am in the Conference Room of the Knox Civic Center. Board members are appointed for 4 year terms by the Board of Commissioners.

Board Members:
Mickey Parker
Greg Mullis, Chairman
Josh Lurie
TJ Heath
Francis Adams
Alan Childs
Laura Rackley, Vice- Chair
John Albrycht
Dottie Walker, Secretary

The Library Board is responsible for supporting the operation of the Jones County Public Library and facilitating literacy in our community. The Board meets once a quarter at the Jones County Public Library, 146 Railroad Street, Gray, Georgia 31032. The Board has 8 members, 3 of which are 5 year appointees by the Board of Commissioners.

County Board Members
Frank Duke
Jason Rizner
Jacqueline “Jackie” Tukes

The Duties of the Planning and Zoning Commission are to conduct public hearings and make recommendations to the Board of Commissioners concerning rezoning and conditional uses, and to make final decisions for new subdivisions within the County. This Board meets once a month, usually on the third Monday of each month at the Jones County Government Center. Board members are appointed for 5 year terms and are appointed by the Board of Commissioners.

Board Members:
Regan Skinner, District I
Hal Creek, District 2
Milton Appling, District 3
Larry Jackson, District 4
Earlene Hamilton, County